Quote

“But that’s the glory of foreign travel, as far as I am concerned. I don’t want to know what people are talking about. I can’t think of anything that excites a greater sense of childlike wonder than to be in a country where you are ignorant of almost everything. Suddenly you are five years old again. You can’t read anything, you have only the most rudimentary sense of how things work, you can’t even reliably cross a street without endangering your life. Your whole existence becomes a series of interesting guesses.”
― Bill Bryson, Neither Here Nor There: Travels in Europe

Let’s go back to 2010… February to be exact.

I was 19 years old and had never left the country before. I have family though in Germany and my grandmother decided to surprise me with a ticket to Germany with her! Little did I know how this one trip would change my life forever! Two weeks in Hamburg, Germany with my family and newly made friends transformed my life in incredible ways. I could not get enough of the architecture and elegant dress, smells of the breweries, fresh brotchen and sausage, sites on the Kiez, and sounds as people everywhere spoke in a language foreign to me. I had heard German before since my cousins visit the United States every year and do still communicate in German, but it was a completely new experience to have everyone, everywhere I went speaking German. My desire to learn and my curiosity to discover all that was new and different grew and thrived! … I knew that this trip to Germany would be the first of many travels for me.

A new door had been opened and it revealed a life full of international adventures,

travels, learning experiences, and growth! 

 

… Since this trip I have traveled to Chennia and Pondicherry, India, Mexico, Jamaica, Denmark and back to Germany three more times…

In August I am flying back to Germany yet again.

This time though I am staying for more than 8 months in Berlin and Hamburg!

This time I not only have amazing family, but an incredible fiance and his family, and wonderful friends anticipating my arrival back on German soil!

… Traveling to Germany in 2010 forever changed the course of my life and I can’t imagine anything better than the life I live now!

 

By letting go of expectations, letting curiosity and an open mind lead the way I have been able to fully embrace the beauty of other cultures !

Three months until I am back at it… in Berlin!

“But that’s the…

2 responses »

  1. I’m so excited for you, Em, and look forward to all of your blogging while you are in Germany! I love you so much, and am so proud of you!!!

Leave a Reply

