Quote

“Some people come into our lives and quickly go. Some stay for a while, leave footprints on our hearts, and we are never, ever the same”

― Adlai E. Stevenson II

On Sunday, my not so “little” brother graduates high school. On June 10th, my classroom full of preschoolers graduate and on June 11th it is time for the kindergartners to graduate, preparing the way for years of grade school to come. And today, one could say that I “graduated” as my time working in child care has slowed down for a bit. It is bittersweet to say the least. For those who have known me for years, there is always at least one family that I am babysitting/nannying for or a school or camp that I am working at. As the oldest of five siblings I have always been around children. At age 12 I began babysitting and loved it.Always wanting to “be the change that I want to see in the world” I saw my love for working with children as a great outlet to better the world. Children are the future after all.

The unconditional love that my parents give to me and my siblings inspired me to pursue my passion of working with children. I wanted to teach children about all the wonders of the world. In the end though the children taught me just as much as I passed onto them.

Have you ever noticed how a child views the world? – It is how I strive to view the world each and everyday.

Children see the world without limits, exclusions, politics, hate… they see it as a playground filled with wonders to explore and questions to ask. Through the eyes of a child all colors, shapes, sizes, and accents are pretty and awesome. 

Starting in the next couple of weeks, I will begin working as a care provider at a residence home for adults with special needs. Through this experience I know that I will learn many new things too…

I will miss working with children though. Their laughter brightens any day.

Without even realizing it or meaning to every child that I have taken care of has impacted my life and left footprints on my heart.

and for that, I say, Thank You 🙂

Years of working with children has taught me…

* To expect the unexpected (if that is even possible)

*Honesty is best

*Loving someone is easy, it is hating people that takes effort

*Just the words “tickle fingers” are hard for a smile to resist

*Beware… if a child LOVES a story AND the way you read it, then they will want it read OVER and OVER again… just like it was the first time

*Band-aids solve most “boo-boos”

*Backyards, even in cities, can quickly become a pond for fishing

*Imagination is the cure for all moments of boredom…

* Hugs work like magic

* “You are my Sunshine” & “House on Pooh Corner” can never be sung enough

*Laughter is the universal language

*Friends come in all shapes and sizes…

… and so much more ❤

From playgrounds and backyards, to dance shows and concerts, from Cape Cod to Mexico and everywhere in between … working as a child care provider has taken me many places … and with that I am excited to see where my next journey will take me.

“Some people co…

4 responses »

  1. That’s wonderful Emily,

    I am especially touched by this sharing, imagining you with all those children through the years. I loved seeing the picture you showed me the other day.

    And I love your child’s heart.

    I love you so much,

    Hugs,

    Dad

Leave a Reply

