Quote

“He who is different from me does not impoverish me – he enriches me. Our unity is constituted in something higher than ourselves – in Man… For no man seeks to hear his own echo, or to find his reflection in the glass.”
― Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

My blog post for peace for July is in celebration of our differences! Today… I spent my morning at a Diversity training where myself and the other summer interns were trained on how to respect diversity in the workplace among staff and the individuals that we are serving. Respect for our differences belongs everywhere we go, not just within the workplace. 

My summer internship/job has me working with adults with special needs. The job is an incredibly humbling experience. I have always believed that there is beauty everywhere and in everyone. We may be different, one from another, but I like it like that. It would be dreadfully boring if we were all similar. Our differences strengthen us, teach us, and help us grow. Exposing ourselves to diverse populations and areas is one of the best things we can do for ourselves I think. Open your mind, open your heart and let in all that others have to offer.

Today, at work I took one of the gentlemen out walking. Together as I pushed him in his wheelchair with the sun shining, we took in the sounds and sights of a summer day in our small town. Others out walking, smiled, waved and stopped to say hello. As they did this, I felt my heart fill with joy. I met people different from myself, as I walked with a man much different from myself. Together, we embraced diversity and I invite you to do the same. 

In today’s day and age, many mention that there should be no need for “Diversity Training” but there is. I pray for a day, when respect is ingrained in people. No one is less than or better than another, we all unique, different and beautiful in our very own way.

“He who is diff…

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for this beautiful post. I too pray for a day when respect is ingrained. When colour and other so-called ‘otherness’ are a non-issue. Working with adults with special needs truly added to my own humility, so we are along a similar path with regards to that. Hugs to you! xo Gina

    • Thank you for your kind words. Yes, indeed we are. Every new experience that I have like this reminds me of how much I have to be truly grateful for, that I am in fact taking for granted as well such a voice so I can speak up for myself and legs that support me for walking. It is an honor to be the voice for another.

      I agree when all -isms are done away with, that will be a beautiful day. Thanks for stopping by! Hugs and Peace! Emily

  2. What a beautiful, thoughtful blog, Em. Yes indeed diversity is all around us and how cool is that!
    Peace to you, Sharon

Leave a Reply

