Quote

Never underestimate the power of dreams and the influence of the human spirit. We are all the same in this notion: The potential for greatness lives within each of us.
Wilma Rudolph

The potential for greatness lives within each of us. … that statement bears repeating. 

Today… At work, my co-worker and I took the men out bowling. The act of bowling may seem trivial to some, but for others it is a great achievement. One of the men already has a routine in place for what he is accustomed to doing. Bowling is not a part of the routine. He is a smart man though and can when provided with patience and guidance learn new activities outside of his established routine. Yesterday, I am delighted to say that he learned to bowl. 

As I watched the bowling ball roll off the ramp and down the lane (something which I have seen happen many times before) I was filled with delight. As this man learned to bowl, I was reminded yet again to never underestimate the potential of another person.

So many times, we give up on ourselves and others before it is time. With a little bit of patience and attention, giving up does not need to be an option. Resistant in the beginning, my friend grew to enjoy bowling. 

As I taught him, he taught me. A ball, some patience, pins, and a bowling alley… not your typical classroom setting but the perfect one for us. No one’s potential can be discovered without perseverance. It was so touching to see the smile spread across his face as the pins crashed down. Boom! He did it. He bowled. Bam! My co-worker and I did it, we discovered another activity that he can do and enjoys. What a feeling 🙂

                Last night served as another reminder that we are all in this together.  All different and yet One.

Never underesti…

Leave a Reply

