3 days: 1 weekend: lots to do!

Standard

Every Monday, I have wanted to recap some of what my weekends entail – don’t worry I won’t write about it all, but this past weekend in particular – some things were happening here in Germany! Berlin as the capital was the place to be since 22 September was National Election Day. Yes, the vote on a Sunday. I think it’s a bit weird but it seems to make sense since this way no one is at work.

so quick recap:

Friday: I thought I would be productive and get a lot of uni work done. But alas, I did get some but not a ton done. I finally mailed out postcards that I have been carrying around with me for over two weeks! I even bought my stamps in German, well at least I tried to! I met up with a friend at Starbucks afterwards, Starbucks has wifi – you don’t realize how much you used WIfi until it is no where to be found- so we enjoyed some available internet and then went on to explore some thrift shops. I found the cutest top for 5 euros, so I think it was successful! …. Ok enough about Friday. Long story short for Friday night- life: we tried to take part in but it didn’t turn out as planned. Adventures with friends are still a lot of fun though, regardless of how they shape up.

Saturday: Again, I began it with the intention of doing a lot of uni work. The sun was out though – this is not as common here as in Massachusetts – so when an invitation to the zoo came my way- I went! (pictures to follow). Saturday night: Family dinner with a friends parents which provided a nice taste of home since they are visiting her from America and then off to a shisha lounge we went for hours of conversation, fun 90’s music and just a good time. now…

Sunday: the big election day has arrived! but first, I had a food tour to attend. The food tour took place with other students who traveled with the same Globalinks program as I did. It was a lot of fun and very filling. It took place in Neukölln, Berlin which some say is comparable to the Bronx in New York – I didn’t really see the comparison, but that’s OK. It is a borough filled with many foreigners and very ethnic food and hipster looking bars. – Definitely a cool place to go see in Berlin. After the food tour was over, I hurried over to my cousin’s apartment where some other friends and I were meeting. – quick side note: I feel so spoiled to have family here, it makes everything feel much more normal and natural. We stayed at my cousins discussing politics for a few hours. By the time we left his apartment, votes were already being counted. We had all registered to attend the Grün (green) election party. The Green Party did not do as well in the elections this year, but it was still a great experience to attend an election party and to see the candidate and other main people come out and speak to everyone. Of course with a loss in the elections it is important for the party members to rally their supporters so that faith in the party is not lost.  Jürgen Trittin, the candidate for the Green party was ending his speech as we entered. It was interesting to me how loose the security was for entering this function. I mean they quickly scanned our bags but that is all. I am definitely more accustomed the large amounts of tighter security in the USA. 

Overall, it was a great weekend. I was so glad that I was able to take advantage of the political scene here as well. All parties here make it on the ballot. Unlike in our primaries where only Democrat and Republican are present on the ballot. I much prefer the way that the ballot is set up in Germany compared to the USA. Pictures to come for this as well. 🙂

About ewhite3

I am a curious, adventurous soul. I want to experience all that life has to offer all while surrounded by the people I love. I want to make a difference in all that I do, dedicating each day of my life to a greater cause. Every since my first time traveling I have been transformed and energized to discover all that this beautiful world has to offer and teach us. I am a college student, care provider, daughter, sister, friend, volunteer... I embody love, laughter, and fun. I choose to embrace the idea of leaving my comfort zone so that I may grow by learning more about the world, in turn learning more about myself. I blog to shine light on my international perspective on life. I blog to share my travels so that others may live through them. I blog to reflect on my own adventures. I blog to educate others and create desire.. desire to explore, travel and open our minds to new cultures, ways, and beliefs. I hope you enjoy as you follow me on my international experience: my amazing life!

Leave a Reply

