The Deutsch Dash…

Standard

Berlin… everyday I am here I find something that new that makes me smile and enjoy the city even more… if that is possible. I noticed a while back that Germans- they DASH! When the bus has arrived, even if they are a block away, if there is any sign of hope that they can catch the bus or train or tram for that matter- they DASH! This is not an exclusive dash that is only reserved for well-trained Germans ready to hit the gym. The “Deutsch Dash” (as I have deemed it) is carried out on a daily basis by business men, women, teachers, children… and now, alot of us study abroad FU-Bester’s have adapted and become familiar with the Deutsch Dash as well.

At first glance, I swore I would never do it, I mean another train, bus, tram always comes.. eventually at least.. but then before I even knew what was happening.. I too felt myself moving at speeds faster than walking with books, groceries, and coffee in hand. It looks like I am fitting in just fine here… “Deutsch Dash” – another moment conquered. 

So far when I have participated in the “Deutsch Dash” I have made the bus. Of course this is not the case for everyone. I have witnessed valiant efforts falling to the wayside as a “Deutsch Dash” just wasn’t enough… the bus pulled away right as the dashing Berliner arrived at its doors. This is always an odd moment where defeat seems to be clear. So now the question stands, why dash? why not walk and wait?

Well every time I join in on the “Deutsch Dash” I laugh and find myself having a grand old time! So to each there own… but I think every once in a while, I am going to see who will win the dash, the driver or me?… 

Today, it was me and my friend. Who knows what next time will bring 🙂

About ewhite3

I am a curious, adventurous soul. I want to experience all that life has to offer all while surrounded by the people I love. I want to make a difference in all that I do, dedicating each day of my life to a greater cause. Every since my first time traveling I have been transformed and energized to discover all that this beautiful world has to offer and teach us. I am a college student, care provider, daughter, sister, friend, volunteer... I embody love, laughter, and fun. I choose to embrace the idea of leaving my comfort zone so that I may grow by learning more about the world, in turn learning more about myself. I blog to shine light on my international perspective on life. I blog to share my travels so that others may live through them. I blog to reflect on my own adventures. I blog to educate others and create desire.. desire to explore, travel and open our minds to new cultures, ways, and beliefs. I hope you enjoy as you follow me on my international experience: my amazing life!

Leave a comment