Quote

— “Life is so full of unpredictable beauty and strange surprises. Sometimes that beauty is too much for me to handle. Do you know that feeling? When something is just too beautiful? When someone says something or writes something or plays something that moves you to the point of tears, maybe even changes you.”
― Mark Oliver Everett, Things The Grandchildren Should Know

In a snapshot this has been my time abroad…

From Berlin to Hamburg to Stuttgart to Lubeck to Luneburg to München…

 

Germany has proven to me to be incredibly beautiful. People keep asking me to describe my time abroad here and I have moments where I honestly do not know what to say because it is hard to describe a location that has impacted me so greatly. It is challenging for me to put my experience into words because it is mine and mine alone. Someone else here may have and probably did get something completely different out of their time here than I have and am getting. At first, I was nervous being here, living in my own apartment in a foreign country where a language that once sounded like nothing but gibberish to me was spoken. Now, of course, it is still German spoken, but I understand. Understanding the language and the layout of the city, understanding the culture and the ways of the people who live here has personalized my experience providing more depth to it than I ever could have imagined.

From Strasbourg to Paris, France

and from Copenhagen to Skagen, Denmark

and from Zurich to Geneva, Switzerland

and from crossing the border in München over to Österriech

From my life in America to my life here, I am blessed to live a life that is filled with beautiful moments. During my time here, I have had moments where I feel overcome with excited emotion and appreciation. Just over five years ago, I began my journey and “love-affair” with international travel. Just over five years ago… a time span that in some regards feels so far away while in others feels just like yesterday… I traveled to Germany for the first time and now I have been living here for months. … While face-timing my dad last night he said, “So Em, I have a serious question, How many countries have you been to now?” That was a question, that while not super serious, got me thinking… As of now I have traveled to, all the above listed locations with this being my sixth trip to Deutschland (and I already have a return ticket  booked for my beautiful cousin’s wedding in October of this year!) I have also traveled to Jamaica, Mexico and India… I really am so lucky! Every moment I appreciate, every moment I embrace. Many moments have felt filled with unpredictable and undescribable beauty from the far away locations to those had in my own backyard. Wherever I am, the time there can be and is a great adventure. Who knows what the next journies will be that I take!?… I am excited to see 🙂

— “Life is so …

Leave a Reply

