typisch Emily

Standard

No, I don’t usually name things after myself and I actually didn’t this time either… One of my best friends this past semester, who also studied at FU-Best for the whole year would laugh a bit and comment by saying “typisch Emily” at the end of a story that he swears if anyone else told it, he wouldn’t believe it perhaps, but since it’s me, it must be true.
We all have our crazy stories and we all have our special ways of telling them… Mine are just silly I think for the most part. I personally feel that the end to my night is a “typisch Emily” type of story… My friend will have to be the real judge of this of course…

After a beautiful morning lake side reading, people watching and wading through the water at Krumme Lanke (pictures below), I went onto my last day babysitting in Berlin. After a ten hour day with the girls and now staying at a friends house my journey home already felt like an adventure. You see, I used to live a 15 minute walk from where I babysat. My friends apartment is a 45 minute ride with the s-bahn and bus away from where I was, more so tonight because of how late it was by the time I finished working, which really was not a problem. Now I’m tired though and bed is calling… So after a 25-30 minute ride on the S-Bahn the handy-dandy, ever-trustworthy BVG app is telling me to take the N40 bus to my final destination… The question that I had was “where the heck is the bus stop for the N40?” I followed the signs… I supposedly was at the right street intersection… I walked up and down all four of the intersecting streets and still saw no bus stop and time was really ticking now. Desperate to get home, which meant I had to find this bus stop, I yelled out (nicely) to a man cycling by, asking if he could help. He helped as he could with what turned out to be both of our broken German language abilities and by offering me the most complicated way to my friends apartment that must exist. He then asked me what time it was and when I answered “it’s 1:07” … All I could think was shit! … That’s when the bus is supposed to come… Refusing to take his suggested route because of course the American who has lived in Berlin for nine months knows Berlin streets better than the man biking everywhere (I’m really just stubborn and felt that right then my way no matter how unfeasible it was beginning to feel, had to be better than another) … I rechecked the BVG app and then scanned the streets in one last hopeless attempt for who knows what: a bus stop to magically appear or low and behold the bus I need! … There it was driving towards the intersection I was standing at, but where would it stop?
I had no time to wonder or think, only to not just “Deutsch dash” but legitimately sprint, trust me, It’s been a while since I’ve sprinted so fast. I sprinted after the bus for three and a half blocks, almost giving up along the way… I knew the driver had noticed the crazy lady aka me running alongside/after the bus, but I just had to make it! … But he wasn’t stopping, I wondered if he would … I was tired and determined though to make the bus and to not change my route for how to get to my friends apartment.
Tired me stopped sprinting for all of five seconds, simply slowing my pace really and noticed that the bus had also stopped! It stopped! (That bears repeating, natürlich) so with all the energy I had left I really sprinted this time, pushing myself through the home stretch.
While doing so, I began to laugh at the ridiculousness of all this and myself … 🙂 My persistence paid off though.
The bus driver didn’t know what to make exactly of my extreme Deutsch dashing and decided that the least he could do was wait about thirty seconds for me to “cross the finish line” (aka get on the bus). I walked onto it a bit out of breath, completely flustered and a bit overcome with unexpected emotion because really I’m going to miss this crazy city! The driver laughed a bit and said “I had to wait because you’re so nice, you wanted this bus so badly that you ran fast for it!” ( all in German of course but this way you get the point )
I sat down as two people clapped and I laughed, caught my breath and wondered why I’m so determined sometimes but decided that it’s worth it: I got a good story from it all AND made the bus! Now time for sleep… Guten nacht 🙂

20140501-022446.jpg

20140501-022503.jpg

About ewhite3

I am a curious, adventurous soul. I want to experience all that life has to offer all while surrounded by the people I love. I want to make a difference in all that I do, dedicating each day of my life to a greater cause. Every since my first time traveling I have been transformed and energized to discover all that this beautiful world has to offer and teach us. I am a college student, care provider, daughter, sister, friend, volunteer... I embody love, laughter, and fun. I choose to embrace the idea of leaving my comfort zone so that I may grow by learning more about the world, in turn learning more about myself. I blog to shine light on my international perspective on life. I blog to share my travels so that others may live through them. I blog to reflect on my own adventures. I blog to educate others and create desire.. desire to explore, travel and open our minds to new cultures, ways, and beliefs. I hope you enjoy as you follow me on my international experience: my amazing life!

Leave a Reply

