My living journal

Standard

It appears that I have been blogging for just over a year now. I had not been keeping track of this, but WordPress sent me a thank you for my loyalty, which was an interesting thing to be made aware of…

When I started blogging I thought that I was doing it for you, the readers. Truthfully though I am blogging for both of us. Blogging has provided me with the chance to reflect, sort out my thoughts and share this incredible journey called life that I am on! Thanks for taking part in it with me. Through this webpage, my blog, I have shared stories and pictures of my travels, thoughts, gratitude and favorite quotes. It has been a wonderful gift to be able to share it all with you. I thought that through my blog I would only chronicle my time abroad, but I personally have found such benefit from this that I will continue to blog even once back in the states. One journey of my life, one chapter as some say is soon coming to a close, which for me comes with a bundle of emotions and of course the beginning of another chapter. Looking back at my posts throughout the past year, I am present to a change in my writing style and in some regard my thought process. In one year, so much has changed and taken place for me, as I know it probably has for everyone. In the seemingly-short nine months that I have lived in Germany so much still has radically changed. 

A couple nights ago, after dinner my cousin and her fiance, my aunt and my uncle and I were all sitting around chatting. We got to talking about how surreal it is that I am leaving on Thursday. One person then mentioned that it still feels surreal that I had moved to Germany and have been living here for nine months, as five years ago they never would have dreamed that to be a reality. They are so right! If someone asked me five years ago where my life would be at 23, I may have said, married with children, working on a degree or working full-time. I don’t know exactly, but I do know that five years ago I would not have seen myself as the confident, go-getter, world-traveler that I am today. I cannot imagine my life any other way though now. I used to plan out of everything and for every plan, I had a back up plan too (just in case). This is not me anymore, I have guidelines, ideas to lead me on the way, but most importantly I have “my light” shining so brightly and I have my heart full of passion leading me in many wondrous directions. I have faith in the unknown and not angst in the unknown. I am honest with myself and others and through that honesty I have shed the feeling that I  need to please those around me. Through my happiness, I spread happiness. Through my joy, I share joy. Through my faith, I carry on to the next chapter without worry, but with trust and delight. How I once imagined, five years ago, that my life would be now, now seems so foreign and out of reach. While this is indeed OK, it is still interesting to note. 

Through this blog and the process of blogging I have found that I have created and continue to create a living journal. This blog, for me at least, serves as a place where I can go back and read what took place days, weeks, months ago… I know that I do not post daily or weekly at times for that matter because I post when I feel the urge to. So, at times I have noticed, I am purging post after post, thought upon thought onto this webpage while at other times, my blog remains untouched for a bit of time. When I started blogging, I thought that in order to “do it right” I had to blog daily or weekly, in some manner that was regulated, but as I can tell through some of the earlier posts, at times my writing was more forced and less fluid. It is fun to be able to see and read about the adventures that I have had. It is humbling to look back at how fortunate I am with all that I have done. I hope that you, the readers, have also enjoyed virtually taking part in my adventures. It has been a fun ride for me, as I believe it will also continue to be!

 

About ewhite3

I am a curious, adventurous soul. I want to experience all that life has to offer all while surrounded by the people I love. I want to make a difference in all that I do, dedicating each day of my life to a greater cause. Every since my first time traveling I have been transformed and energized to discover all that this beautiful world has to offer and teach us. I am a college student, care provider, daughter, sister, friend, volunteer... I embody love, laughter, and fun. I choose to embrace the idea of leaving my comfort zone so that I may grow by learning more about the world, in turn learning more about myself. I blog to shine light on my international perspective on life. I blog to share my travels so that others may live through them. I blog to reflect on my own adventures. I blog to educate others and create desire.. desire to explore, travel and open our minds to new cultures, ways, and beliefs. I hope you enjoy as you follow me on my international experience: my amazing life!

Leave a Reply

