America

Standard

On Thursday night at 7 pm my flight from Germany landed at Logan Airport in Boston. As we made our descent down towards the runway, the beauty of the Boston Harbor came into view. This is a view that I have now seen several times from this exact perspective and yet somehow this time as I looked out my window, it was as though I was doing it for the first time all over again. Boston, Massachusetts is still the same city that it was when I left the United States last August with only a one way ticket to Germany and no set knowledge of when I would be flying back home. It is still the same and yet for me, all of this from Boston to my smaller hometown are changed. My perspective has changed, thus causing my outlook towards the place that I call home to change as well. 

Transitioning back home is something that I am allowing to happen day by day, moment by moment. I feel no need to predict or prepare for the oncoming of emotions, thoughts, or awareness of differences in the way that I see the space around me. These physical places have not changed since I left, but I have and truth is the people that fill them have as well as life events affect us all. While abroad, I have had my eyes opened up to the thought processes and perceptions of many, many other people from the United States and abroad. I have had some of my views challenged, while others have been strengthened. I have learned to fully embrace change, seeing the beauty in each new setting, moment, and conversation.

It feels different now to be here, back in the United States than it did when I left for Germany nine months ago and I believe that is good as it is a sign that growth took place within me, thanks to my time abroad and how I approached it. Many people have been asking me how it feels to be back home. Truth is, it feels surreal still. I feel as though I may only be here temporarily.. While I know this is not the case, it is how I feel as the past nine months of my life were filled with changes, travel, exploration, long nights out, and deep discussions… perhaps life is one big transition, from one day to the next… 

Being back in the United States is honestly bittersweet. My time abroad was incredible, an experience that I highly recommend all take advantage of. Being home is also incredible as I get to finally see family and friends again, face to face, in person and not simply over Skype or Facetime, which while wonderful are simply not the same as being in person.I think that it is best that my feelings towards being home are bittersweet because that word and feeling reflects the truly amazing time that I had abroad, while also acknowledging the wonderful feeling of being back home with those that I missed.

🙂

About ewhite3

I am a curious, adventurous soul. I want to experience all that life has to offer all while surrounded by the people I love. I want to make a difference in all that I do, dedicating each day of my life to a greater cause. Every since my first time traveling I have been transformed and energized to discover all that this beautiful world has to offer and teach us. I am a college student, care provider, daughter, sister, friend, volunteer... I embody love, laughter, and fun. I choose to embrace the idea of leaving my comfort zone so that I may grow by learning more about the world, in turn learning more about myself. I blog to shine light on my international perspective on life. I blog to share my travels so that others may live through them. I blog to reflect on my own adventures. I blog to educate others and create desire.. desire to explore, travel and open our minds to new cultures, ways, and beliefs. I hope you enjoy as you follow me on my international experience: my amazing life!

Leave a Reply

