Life

Image

Life

let the events of life flow naturally… do not resist…

Of course this seems easier said than done, but the truth is that it takes more energy both emotionally and mentally for us to resist the changes that occur in our lives, than to allow them to be. Life itself is a journey of change from one journey/chapter of our life to the next… These changes whether they be positive or negative, are to be addressed in their own unique way. The above quote speaks so much truth, when we resist the natural changes of life, sorrow can follow, when we allow them to simply be, the changes of our lives are given the chance to surprise us, enlighten us, perhaps make us uncomfortable, teach us and most importantly provide us space to grow.

Looking back on my life, which I realize in years is not too much, but in experiences I feel that a lot has taken place; I have been able to see that the hardest times in my life were those when I resisted the changes that life was presenting me. Resistance is like friction, it is not smooth. Changes are not always smooth even when we do not resist them, so I have been thinking, why resist the changes of life, if that only adds to the activity that change involves?

Returning home from living in Germany for the past nine months definitely has me confronted by change. Change of pace of life, change of living situation, change of language, culture, food, scheduling, transportation and so much more.  I personally do not believe that it would do me any good to focus on the differences of the two countries where I lived because each country is different as it should be. Comparing countries to me is like comparing apples to birds which are clearly two completely different and incomparable things. I have been back in the states for six days now. I have noticed the differences, I have felt the effects of change. At moments I have wanted to resist the change and by this I mean that I have had moments where I have wished I could deny the reality that my time living in Europe is over. Doing this though, would not help me or anyone. I believe it is best for one to embrace change, letting it play out and blossom into all that it can … I am back in the United States, a country different than Germany (as it should be), where the next chapter of my life is beginning to unfold… I look forward to seeing what it has in store. 🙂

Leave a Reply

